Do you know how many parts of the Mass there are? With so many acclamations to be sung, and responses to be replied, not to mention the standing, sitting and kneeling, it wouldn’t be surprising if the Mass had at least 20-30 parts.

In actual fact, the Mass consist of 2 main parts which are so interconnected, they form a single act of worship. In addition, there are 2 more rites that open and conclude the celebration.

1) Introductory Rites
The Mass commences with the procession of the altar boys, lectors, communion ministers, and the priest. The Introductory Rites prepares the receptivity of our hearts for worship. We come penitent  (‘I Confess’ and Kyrie) and yet rejoice over God’s salvific work through His Son Jesus Christ (Gloria).

2) Liturgy of the Word
The Liturgy of the Word is the proclamation, exhortation and teaching of Christ. The homily preached by the priest provides better understanding, right interpretation, and practical application of the Word of God.

The Liturgy of the Word ends with Prayers of the Faithful and the Liturgy of the Eucharist begins with Offertory.

3) Liturgy of the Eucharist
The Liturgy of the Eucharist is the celebration of Christ’ great love and sacrifice for us on the cross. To enter into the Paschal mystery, we offer ourselves to God to use as He pleases; the priest consecrates (making holy) our gifts; and we receive the Eucharist which unites us to the Body of Christ.

4) Concluding Rites
In the Concluding Rites, the congregation is dismissed and sent on their mission to “make disciples of all nations.”

During the months of September and October we will focus on the 4 Parts Of The Mass. Information can be found in the Bulletin or Online.

Paula Kroll – Evangelization and Liturgy Coordinator

Share on facebook
Share on twitter